Professional Awards

 2017 SCASL Award Recipients





Angela Durham
School Librarian of the Year
Oak Pointe Elementary School
District 5 Lexington & Richland
Sponsored by Follett

Dr. J. Frank Baker
Administrator of the Year
Sponsonered by Follett



Shannon Biggar
Paraprofessional of the Year
Cane Bay Middle School
Berkeley County
Sponsored by Follett

Ashley Paddock
                   Outstanding Program of the Year Award               Mabry Middle School
          Sponsored by Gumdrop Books

 alt  alt

Amanda Totman
Nancy Jane Day Scholarship
Homeland Park Primary School
Sponsored by SCASL

Kimberly Johnson
Margaret Ehrhardt Student Scholarship
Hanahan High School
Sponsored by SCASL

Awards Committee

Function: The Awards Committee promotes public awareness of the profession and its services and administers the awarding of the SCASL professional awards.  The committee disseminates to the membership relevant information concerning these awards, criteria, and deadlines.

ALL APPLICATIONS SHOULD BE POSTED ON GOOGLE DOCS AND SHARED WITH SCASLAWARDS@GMAIL.COM BY Friday, December 1, 2017.  Questions can be emailed to Pamela Williams at

2017-2018 Committee Members:

Chair:  Mrs. Pamela Williams, Columbia High School, Richland County School District One


Angela Durham, Oak Pointe Elementary School, Lexington/Richland District 5

Angie Enlow

Carolyn Gause

Jacqueline Rapp

Professional Awards:
Is your school library an integral part of your school? If so we would like to honor those who have helped make it happen! The SCASL Awards Program includes these awards and honors:

Outstanding School Library Program of the Year - honors an exemplary program demonstrating strength in the areas of Foundations, Building the Learning Environment, Teaching and Learning, Building Collaborative Partnerships, Advocacy and Outreach, and Leadership.  Sponsored by Gumdrop Books.

School Librarian of the Year – honors a full-time school librarian on the basis of exemplary programs as well as active participation and service to SCASL and other related organizations. Sponsored by Follett School Solutions.

Distinguished Service Award – recognizes an individual or an organization for contributions to SCASL and school media programs throughout the state of South Carolina.

Administrator of the Year – recognizes and thanks an exemplary administrator. Sponsored by East Educational.

Nancy Jane Day Scholarship – provides an SCASL member with reimbursement for the cost of one successfully completed college course taken to improve job performance or complete a graduate degree in library science.

Library Paraprofessional of the Year – The Media Paraprofessional Award recognizes the exemplary performance of a paraprofessional who directly supports the media profession either at the building or district level.

Margaret Ehrhardt Student Scholarship – provides a scholarship to a graduating media center volunteer who has made an outstanding contribution to South Carolina school librarianship, school library services, and/or SCASL.

SCASL Honor Roll nominees are recognized in the SCASL Messenger and the conference program. They will receive a certificate of merit, a monetary award, and a letter of commendation will be sent to their supervisor, superintendent or school board.

Composition: The Awards Committee is composed of a committee chair and members chosen by the chair.

Chairperson: The Awards Committee Chair is the School Librarian from one year previous to the calendar year.


- Promotes public awareness of the profession and its services.

- Handles the following recognitions that are presented by SCASL: School Librarian of the Year, Nancy Jane Day Award, Distinguished Service Award, Administrator of the Year Award, Margaret Ehrhardt Student Scholarship, and the Media Paraprofessional of the Year Award.

- Distributes relevant information concerning the awards of the membership and school administrators.

Updated: 8 November 2017